a survivor.

(David is pictured on the left)

AIDS is a three-letter word

used to fill in the spots

earn the money

to learn to sympathize

but have you ever looked the disease right in the eyes?

I did.

I was in New York City last week

the city that never seems to close its eyes

or even sleep.

I met David in New York City

serving dinner at a church one evening.

It was with a program called Momentum

that provides people with AIDS with healthy foods.

David had AIDS

and for once I saw

a face to the disease that

we talk about like we know so well.

David was relatable

witty

and

happy

a survivor to be sure.

I talked with him for quite a long time

then left one friend richer

with a smile as big as an ocean,

eyes opened.

Have you ever experienced an eye-opening moment that makes you see something in a whole different way than you originally thought?


5 responses to “a survivor.

  1. I went to Jamaica for a mission trip this spring break and was able to spend time with people in a third-world country. I have to say, I left with so many new friends that I won’t ever forget. That trip opened my mind and I can’t wait to go back!

  2. I absolutely LOVED working at Momentum when I was a part of the Winter Break trip. The people are so genuine and enjoyable to talk to! I’m glad you were as moved by this experience as I was. šŸ™‚

  3. Ah. Such a great experience. I wish we had more time with them!

  4. This is GREAT! Working with Momentum was probably one of my favorite things we did in NYC. The people are so humble and thankful. They understand the importance of every single day. They never take anything for granite because each day is a day they get to live!

  5. I LOVE THIS! Absolutely beautiful, my friend.

Leave a Reply

